2017 CIMA Awards: Call for Nominations

The Conference of Inter-Mountain Archivists (CIMA) is currently accepting nominations for the 2017 CIMA Awards. The following two awards will be presented during the CIMA/NWA Joint-Annual Meeting, May 17-19, 2017 in Boise, Idaho:

The prestigious CIMA Life-Time Achievement Award acknowledges and demonstrates appreciation for a life of service and leadership in the archival profession OR for significant life-long support of the archival community and its institutions. Nominees must have demonstrated strong leadership and advanced scholarship, on both regional and national levels. Last year, CIMA presented awards to dual recipients. They were Jeffrey Kintop, Nevada State Archivist and Acting Division Administrator, from Carson City, Nevada; and Terry B. Nelson, (retired) Director of the Salt Lake County Records Management and Archives, in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The CIMA Service Award is given to an individual who has made significant contributions in recent years: to the CIMA organization OR to the archival institutions of the Intermountain region OR to the archival profession. The award is given in appreciation for service and leadership and support of the region’s archival community. Nominees must have demonstrated an inspirational spirit and have worked to build a career based on service. However, potential nominees of the CIMA Service Award may have not yet achieved many of the career milestones required for the Life-Time Achievement Award. Last year’s recipient was Julia Stringfellow, University Archivist, Library Faculty Chair, and Professor; at the University Archives and Special Collections at Brooks Library, Central Washington University in Ellensburg, Washington.

CIMA Award recipients do NOT have to be CIMA members.

To nominate someone for either award: please send their name, along with a letter explaining why you think the person should be recognized by their peers and colleagues. To help us with the vetting process, please be as specific and as illustrative as possible. Include any supporting documentation such as: a CV or résumé or biography of the nominee, any photographs, and a list of references that may be contacted. Nominations must be submitted by a CIMA member after a call for nominations is sent to the membership-at-large. All members are encouraged to participate in the nomination process. You may remain anonymous.

The deadline for submitting award nominations is March 1st, 2017.

This year’s chairperson is CIMA Past-President, Michael Frazier. To nominate someone send an e-mail to: michael.frazier@unlv.edu, with the subject “CIMA Awards Committee.”

Or mail your nomination to:
Michael Frazier, CIMA Awards Committee Chair
Special Collections, UNLV Libraries
4505 Maryland Parkway @ Box 457010
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7010

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: