2016 CIMA Awards: Call for Nominations

The Conference of Inter-Mountain Archivists (CIMA) is currently accepting nominations for the 2016 CIMA Awards. The CIMA Awards will be presented during a ceremony at the CIMA Annual Conference in Ogden, Utah in May 2016. Two awards will be presented at that time: the CIMA Life-Time Achievement Award and the CIMA Service Award.

Presented by the peers and colleagues of the recipients, the prestigious CIMA Life-Time Achievement Award acknowledges and demonstrates appreciation for a life of service and leadership in the archival profession OR for significant life-long support of the archival community and its institutions. Nominees must have demonstrated strong leadership and advanced scholarship, on both regional and national levels. Last year, CIMA presented awards to dual recipients. They were Melanie Sturgeon, Director of the Arizona State Archives; and Gregory C. Thompson, Associate Dean for Special Collections at the J. Willard Marriott Library.

Similarly, the CIMA Service Award is given to an individual who has made significant contributions in recent years: to the CIMA organization OR to the archival institutions of the inter-mountain region OR to the archival profession. The award is given in appreciation for service and leadership and support of the region’s archival community. Nominees must have demonstrated an inspirational spirit and have worked to build a career based on service. However, potential nominees of the CIMA Service Award may have not yet achieved many of the career milestones required for the Life-Time Achievement Award. Last year’s recipient was Brad Cole, Interim Dean of the Merrill-Cazier Library and Associate Dean for Special Collections, at Utah State University (USU).

Award recipients do NOT have to be CIMA members.

To nominate someone for either award: please send us their name, along with a letter explaining why you think the person should be recognized by their peers. To help us with the vetting process, please be as specific and as illustrative as possible. Include any supporting documentation such as: a CV or résumé of the nominee, any photographs, a list of references that we can speak to, or links to a published biography online.

The deadline for submitting award nominations is February 1, 2016.

Nominations must be submitted by a CIMA member; and a Call for Nominations is sent to the membership-at-large. All members are encouraged to participate in the nomination process. You may remain anonymous.

In addition, we are calling for volunteers to serve on the CIMA Awards Committee. The Awards Committee is comprised of representatives, from each state of the region. This committee will begin meetings in early February for adjudication, and to determine its recommendations for the award recipients. The committee’s recommendations will be submitted for final approval to the CIMA Council and Officers. The names of this year’s award recipients will be announced in late March, in advance of the spring conference.
This year’s chairperson is CIMA Past-President, Michael Frazier.

To nominate someone OR to volunteer on this year’s CIMA Awards Committee, send an e-mail to: michael.frazier@unlv.edu, with the subject “CIMA Awards Committee.”

Or mail your nomination to:

Michael Frazier, CIMA Awards Committee Chair
Special Collections, UNLV Libraries
4505 Maryland Parkway @ Box 457010
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7010

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: