2014 CIMA Awards: Call for Nominations

The 2014 Conference of Inter-Mountain Archivists Awards Committee invites nominations for the CIMA Life-Time Achievement Award and the CIMA Service Award. Both awards will be presented at the Annual CIMA meeting in Carson City, Nevada, May 14–16, 2014.

The CIMA Life-Time Achievement Award recognizes a career of service and leadership in the archival profession. Last year’s recipient was Karen Underhill, retired Head of Special Collections and Archives, Northern Arizona University.

The CIMA Service Award is given to an individual who has, in the recent past, made significant contributions to either CIMA or the archival profession. Last year’s recipient was Gordon Daines, University Archivist, Brigham Young University.

Award recipients do not have to be CIMA members. To nominate someone for either award, please send their name, along with a letter explaining why you think the individual merits recognition by their peers. The deadline for submitting nominations is March 1, 2014.

The CIMA Awards Committee, including: John Murphy, Daphne DeLeon, Alan Virta, and Todd Welch, will meet in mid-March 2014 to review nominations. The committee’s recommendations will be submitted for final approval to the CIMA President and Council. The names of this year’s award recipients will be announced in April, in advance of the spring conference.

Everyone is encouraged to participate in the nomination process. You may email your nomination to john_m_murphy@byu.edu. Please put in the email’s subject box “CIMA Awards Committee.” Or mail your nomination to:

John Murphy, CIMA Awards Committee Chair
L. Tom Perry Special Collections
1130 Harold B. Lee Library
Brigham Young University
Provo, Utah 84602

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: